PDP is what young teachers need to learn before staring to work at school. It teaches you to be innovative, to clued up, to improve the art of public speaking and to learn more you know about your profession. Yesterday our teacher invited a quest to our classes – Jon Larsen, U.S. embassy press attache. Jon Larsen is a very inviting man. It is clear from the first sight. The thing I like about Americans is that they try to make everyone feel comfortable when they are speaking about something. The same situation among our people is totally different. We mostly try to disarm our listeners so that they will ask no questions. So is Hanaa Singer ( previous quest of our PDP classes). It does matter nothing if you speak to UN representative or press attache, they will treat you properly. Sometimes I even forget I am speaking with a person of a higher rank. But if you speak with the same ranked Kazakh man you will always feel the presence of authority and formality in speech. That is one of the many things that I concluded for myself. Or is there anyone, who disagrees with me?!
I should admit that the best speakers are men. I liked the diction, voice and manner of Jon’s speech, it makes easy to follow his ideas. When I found out he was born in 1962, I thought “Hmm, the same age as my mom, but my mom looks younger comparatively.” ) His life background is very rich, he has seen the world. Jon went abroad to study when he was in the eleventh grade. His parents found a place for him in Germany through personal contact and he spent one year there. For me, it was interesting to listen to Jon, because the things he has done I wish to do too. I have much in common with Jon Larsen, for instance, passion. He is passionate about so many things. Sometimes I feel that there are a lot of things that I am passionate about, but I used to think that a man should know the subject well to be passionate about something. So, mostly, I found difficulties to answer myself “What is one thing I am Passionate about?” There could be more than one thing, thank you, Jon!
Concerning Jon’s personal life, he has two daughters: 16 and 18 year old. It is obvious that his daughters are smart as their father, because when he told about his daughters there was a sense of pride on his face. Jon is experienced, he tried many jobs and worked in different places. I liked the way he told about his career: ” I polished my Russian, passed test and came to Astana”. The easiness in the memory to talk about his job background shows that he never had problems with finding a job. On the contrary, he seemed to be required everywhere.
Do you find Jon interesting?! I do. Here are 5 impressive things, which make him interesting to people around.

  1. He has a profession of an economic engineer, but he has never worked as an engineer.
  2. He learnt German watching TV.
  3. 20 years of his life he spent traveling Alabama-Germany-Korea-Luisiana-..-Alabama.
  4. Jon reads hundreds of books a year.
  5. Having a good job position, he misses flights a lot.

I think Jon is a good speaker as Glen Tosaya ( another PDP quest speaker). Both of them feel comfortable in front of a large audience. They speak at ease. What I liked about Jon is that he is not afraid to speak about detailed facts of his life: traveling.
I like traveling much, but I have no opportunities to do myself right now. I guess it was not easy for Hanaa, Jon, Kristina to see oversea countries. Sometimes I think perhaps I am living that stage of my life when I am to pass examination of difficulties before I manage my dreams come true live.
Nevertheless, I am glad to have guest speakers, who has seen the world. There is always something new you can learn from them. I think the chronology of Jon life will get longer if we meet again in another ten years time. I hope mine won’t remain the same.))

