I am glad we are learning more and more about different kinds of things to teach our students. And one of such useful teaching devices is Jazz chants. I have never heard about it before. Perhaps, it is because I was taught English in old and very traditional ways: drilling and translating. We never used to use jazz chants in our classroom. There were times when our teacher taught us “May there always be sunshine”, “If you are happy”, and “What is your name”. These are all songs I knew from my school English. I remember, once we sang the very first song in three languages and the pupils from other classes asked us to teach them that song in English. Children wanted to sing in English, but what they had to do if there was nobody to teach them.
And now, I am glad that teachers in Kazakhstan do not try to keep that very old and bored way of language teaching. Being at school practice at NIS, I am learning a lot about modern methods of teaching. I used to be in practice at schools in Aktobe, but NIS differs from them totally. It is good to be able to use everything you learn in your own classroom. Actually, my supervisor at NIS is open to learn many things from me as well.
As for the jazz chants, I think it is good to use them with what you want, it might be vocabulary, grammar, etc. If you teach jazz chants with pleasure, students will get interested in it and they will do chanting in every day life. Through jazz chanting they will be able to use simple words, phrases, and even sentences in communication. And, on the other hand, jazz chants are very easy to remember!
To be open and self-develop are the most important qualities of a successful teacher. Yesterday we had a quest and she told about various problems at schools. All of our teachers know about those problems, but they either do not know how to get the lessons improved or they are too weak to get away from the old techniques of their teaching. That’s what occurs in our classrooms, but I hope young and competent teachers will do their best to raise the quality of education at schools.
As a matter of fact, we are “the products” of that teaching. And I do not wish my children to be taught in the way I was. Perhaps, the fact that we were taught in a traditional way, through Soviet books (even in the century of being independent) will help us to make the change. Now, I found a reason I didn’t want to work at school. I didn’t see the potential power of it! I did realize that teaching can be really fun.

Yesterday our PDP teacher showed us an example of a jazz chant. It was fun to sing. The constant repetition of the words doesn’t get pupils bored, on the contrary, they will have a lot of fun with it. That was the jazz chant we practiced yesterday.

Selfish

This is mine!

That’s yours!

Don’t_touch mine!

Get_your_own!

This is mine!

That’s yours!

This is mine!

That’s yours!

This is mine!

That’s_yours!

That’s_yours!

That’s yours!

Hey, what are you doing?

What are you doing with that?

That’s mine!

Hey, what are you doing?

What are you doing with_that?

That’s his!

Hey, what are you doing?

What are you doing with that?

That’s hers!

What’s mine is mine.

What’s_yours is_yours.

What’s his is his.

What’s_hers is_hers.

What’s ours is ours.

What’s theirs is theirs.

Sometimes, students have so many difficulties with pronouns. If they drill the pronouns trying to learn them by heart, it MIGHT work; but if they sing them, it WILL work! So, isn’t it a nice way to teach them English?! Dear, teachers, get off of the gray colors in your classrooms, make your lessons brighter and more exciting.

