Yesterday I woke up very early as usual. At 7:15a.m. I was at the university standing in a queue for breakfast. I had nothing to do except my assignment on PDP in the morning. At 2:30p.m. I went to PDP classes and we watched “Dead poet’s society”, a film about the novelty that makes people others be against of. Then I and Ainagul hurried to our psychological training. The training was more serious comparing with previous ones for we touched upon an arduous theme of conflict management. All of us were excited and ready to da any activity. Out psychologist Zhanara asked us to be vigilant in dealing with different critical situations. Conflict is an indispensable part of our life. Despite our attitude and wish to avoid disputed cases we are sometimes forced to cope with them in the street, at home and in the shop. It is impossible to protect yourself from shouts, quarrels and cries, but it is possible to resolve the situation in a peaceful way. That is what we are to do in Asian Games. On the training we acted out different situations and possible means of dealing with them. I am a peaceful person, I cannot even pretend to be  quarrelsome. (However, I should admit I am not soooo peaceful when is comes to my rights and personal territory.) We played a game, where two people stand with their backs to each other. The task of the first person is to say rude, bad words addressing to her partner, the task of the second person is the same, but to say only good, kind and warm words. She will make a step with each kind word uttered until she stands near the bad person. I and Aidana were the first pair to act it out. I was a good person, Aidana – bad. So we began. I was saying: “Aidana, you are good, clever. I appreciate your opinions. Each time I pay attention to your thoughts.” But I was receiving a feedback like ” You are bad. Shut up! I don’t want to listen to you.” So did all of us. Later when we shared our feelings about the activity,  the girls said that it was difficult to say bad words against good ones. It is really difficult to be rude when someone is polite to you.

Further on, we were given a paper with different disputed cases. We were to write our responses to them. Some of us wanted to respond on the basis of the first reactions. These are some of the examples I remembered: “You promised to promote me instead of Mr.X. Why did you promote him then?”, “You made a mistake, so I won’t allocate money from the budget to your department”, “I can’t finish the work today”. etc. In addition, we told such situations from our own life. Moldir (volunteer from school#28) told that she broke up with her best friend because of nothing. Now they study in the same class and do not communicate, though they studied in different classes when they were friends. The life!

Do noy try to create conflicts!Avoid them! Conflicts raise problems, antipathy, vengeance. It causes different unpleasant situations. Every case can be solved in a peaceful way. Just think about how! Have more friends and NO enemies!

